Spiritual emotions

Home | The Machinery | Emotions |

In addition to the basic emotions and moral emotions, there is another set of purer “spiritual” emotions that we’ll examine in more detail.  These emotions require processing in the higher brain (pre-frontal cortex) and build upon the moral emotions.

humilityWhilst the moral emotions which are generally inhibitors, the spiritual emotions are generally positive and activating.  There will be more discussion of these in the section on Spiritual Qualities, but the types of emotions we are classifying as “spiritual” are:

  • Joy and happiness (this is a different form of joy from that listed in the basic emotions)
  • Humour
  • Trust and integrity; dependability
  • Compassion
  • Humility
  • Self-contentment
  • Unconditional love
  • Patience and tolerance
  • Innocence, defencelessness
  • Unattached, dispassionate

As with the moral emotions, these are not instinctual responses that we are born with.  We learn these qualities through the lessons of life, and it depends a lot on how we develop and learn to use the faculties in the pre-frontal cortex of the brain, and how we overcome our ego.